The Universe’s Gift

First let me start off by saying that the amount of people that visited my first blog entry was incredible! And receiving any likes or comments surpassed my expectations and made me more excited for my newly started blogging journey. -Thank you for the encouragement

Second, let’s get started with my second blog entry! I had been popping around in some people’s blogs reading their entries, and I came across a beautiful poem, I later found out that her father had written it for her in response to a poem she had written prior. This is what inspired this blog entry;

I’ve never had an awesome relationship with my dad. In fact, I don’t really have much of a relationship with him at all. He was in and out of prison majority of my life… actually that’s an exaggeration now at 22 years old. But for a 12 year old kid, 8 1/2+ years did feel like the majority of my life. So when I read this beautiful poem I couldn’t help but feel a wave of envy roll over me.  Every word in that poem evoked a feeling of love. And that’s a love I’ll never know or experience. Although I stayed rock-hard strong about the whole situation while growing up, I’d say the last 4, 5 years of my life, it has began to take a toll on me. I didn’t realize how real daddy issues truly were until this year. I think this moment hit me hardest when I listened to John Mayer’s song, Daughters on repeat for a good 4 hours while crying. The lyrics: “Oh, you see that skin?
It’s the same she’s been standing in
Since the day she saw him walking away
Now she’s left
Cleaning up the mess he made” hit me harder than I’d ever been hit before. Did I really have daddy issues, was I one of those girls? The guilt crept over me. I didn’t want to accept the fact that the lack of a father figure in my life truly did play a part in who I became, and the woman I am today. But through this self-struggle, after that period of not being comfortable with myself, I found something else out. Yes his actions did affect me, and yes  I did have to accept them and be ashamed of who I was, but I turned out to be one bad a** person!! I have a heart of gold, though I know how to keep it guarded. It made me a smarter kid, I learned to fend for myself earlier in life than most. And most importantly, it made me look forward to having my own family more than anything in life. I always make sure to look for the qualities of a good father in any man I date. Its a dream of mine to raise a kid, and them have a loving father, much like the fellow blogger who’s post I read.

So- To my father, thank you for making me uncomfortable and uneasy with myself, you made  me evolve much  faster and smarter. I am a stronger woman because of you. And to my fellow blogger, thank you for sharing that piece. Cherish your father, appreciate and love him. A DAD is something to hold onto forever. He was personally chosen for you, and given to you as a gift from the the universe.

Here is the link to the original poem: Original Poem

Much Love, Tate

 

7 thoughts on “The Universe’s Gift

  1. laurajmear says:

    I feel so touched that my post evoked all these feelings inside you. I am lucky with my father, he gets me like no other. And it’s odd to think that people don’t have that, and for that I am sorry. But, as you have said, these things help you become you, I bet your dads so proud.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. weird weekends says:

    This was a very touching post… very motivational… I am a father and love that you remind me how important it is to “try” to be a good father… When my oldest was born… (daughter)… I felt so ill equipped, so ignorant, so inadequate (definitely not a gift to her)… but mostly I felt so much love (she was my gift). I learned that it didn’t matter if I had the right “qualities” or not… but if I was ready and willing to work on becoming a good father. My oldest is now married and I miss my little girl… but am proud of the women she is… I still have children at home and your post… which I landed on through fortunate happenstance…. reminds me of the inner work I still have left to do… in order to be worthy of those precious gifts…to be a good father… thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • tatetales says:

      I’m so glad I was able to remind you of the important role you play in your children’s lives. If I can just touch one heart with my posts, I’ve done well.

      Whether you felt like a gift to your daughter or not, you were, and you two are gifts to each other. The love a father can give their daughter is a void that nobody else is capable of filling. So keep on trying because like you said, you still have work to do. Your job is never done. Hope you call your oldest tonight and remind her that she is special, and hold your loved ones at home tight. You never know what you’re doing for them emotionally with the smallest actions.

      Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 19anddreaming says:

    I love this piece so much. It’s so honest and straightforward, I don’t at all see a girl who has a strained relationship with her dad, but rather a girl who is built internally to face any obstacle that comes her way and come out stronger. I am so happy I stopped by to read this post. You really show people that it is all about using your personal struggles to come out stronger and a better person at the end of the day. I wish you lots of success in your blogging journey and can’t wait to read more!

    Happy blogging!

    Like

Leave a comment